Various Ways Freelancers Receive Projects…

email

I received a new project from a client this week, however, it was not the ‘normal’ mode of transmission. It was a voicing memo, something until now I have not experienced. It enables me to replay and pause multiple times ensuring I get all the information required.

So then I thought of the other modes of contact my clients use.

  1. Face to face / interview.
  2. Emails with idea notes and links for research.
  3. Email with an outline and links.
  4. Spoken/voicing memo.

Each method has benefits and although the mode varies the initial response is to compile notes on the content and then draft from them to create the final finished project.

interview

Gathering detailed information to ensure all the facts are correct and the points your client requires are put across to their specification means whatever mode of transmission they use requires concentration and due diligence.

As you learn about a client you begin to know how they think, how they prefer their posts, articles and newsletters to ‘sound’. Voicing memos give us a unique perspective as we hear the clients inflections and emphasis on certain words or parts of the piece. Enabling us to literally ‘voice’ the piece.

Voice-Memos

Do you know of others?

Which mode of contact is most common for your clients.

Author: mandyevebarnett

I have lived on several continents in my life - because of this I have a deep sense of their varied spiritual, physical and emotional depths. My imagination draws from my unconscious and remembered events and feelings giving my creativity a unique flavour. Children's books - Rumble's First Scare, Ockleberries to the Rescue.YA books - Clickety Click and Creature Hunt on Planet Toaria. Adult books - The Rython Kingdom, Rython Legacy, Malgraf's Dawning, The Twesome Loop, The Commodore's Gift and Life in Slake Patch. Books all available from: www.mwww.dreamwritepublishing.ca and Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo etc. My blog is - http://mandyevebarnett.com

Leave a comment